The advantage to potatoes is that there are hundreds of varieties to choose from. Some of the most popular include: russet, sweet, white, red, purple, fingerling, and petites. And all of them are gluten-free. They're also versatile enough that you can incorporate them into your gluten-free diet in many ways.
Can you eat potatoes if you are gluten free?
On the gluten free diet you can eat many foods including meat, fish, fruit, vegetables, rice and potatoes. You can also eat gluten free substitute foods and processed foods that don't contain gluten.
What makes potatoes gluten free?
Gluten is a type of protein found in wheat, rye, barley, and other grains. Since potatoes are a vegetable, and not a grain, that inherently makes them gluten free. This makes potatoes a great, and versatile, solution for anyone that has Celiac disease or just doesn't tolerate gluten well.